Keep Your Eyes Open

Last weekend I attended one of Harrisonburg’s best community events: the International Festival. This was my second year attending, and I have to admit that I really went for the amazing international food. While I wondered around the food booths, though, I happened to see a booth about Ghandi. Again, I went over for selfish reasons: they were handing out free t-shirts. Luckily, the people at the booth didn’t mind my initial reasons for showing up. After getting my t-shirt, I talked to the people for a bit. Gary S. Race, from James Madison University’s Mahatma Gandhi Center for Global Nonviolence was in charge of the booth and we had a great conversation about arts and peace building. We talked about opportunities at EMU and JMU, Drawing Peace, and Peter Menzel and his book Hungry Planet. (By the way, I’ve read Hungry Planet and it was awesome! It was full of beautiful pictures, but at the same time it was very informative. I definitely suggest it.)

By the end of our discussion, I was very glad I had stopped by. It gave me new ideas for our blog, new contacts, and new material.

So, the moral of the story is: free t-shirts get you more than you bargained for!

Just kidding 😉 Keep your eyes peeled for people and places that have the potential to yield peace. Be open when it comes.

-Emma

