Arts and Peacebuilding Activity Demo

This week, Emma and I attended the arts and peacebuilding class that is offered with the Center for Justice and Peacebuilding. While there, I participated in an activity in which we used conflicts in our lives to make poetic lines. The CJP group had some beautiful sentences such as “Injustice is the cancer of society.” Emma and I came up with things like, “It’s really awkward when I walk in on my roomate and her boyfriend snogging.” Somehow, they were still able to make sense and meaning out of our silly little phrases. I was baffled. Since the CJP group is a few years older than me, I thought it would be interesting to see what this activity would look like in a group of my peers which inspired this video. In this video, Malika explains how the process works and George gives his reflections on the activity.

Try this activity out with your friends! Leave us some comments about how it goes. We can’t wait to hear from you!

-b.hench, George, Malika

