Quotes from Lisa

Lisa Schirch, from the small town of Bluffton, Ohio, is the director at 3P Human Security in Washington D.C. Currently on a sabbatical at EMU‘s Center for Justice and Peacebuilding, Lisa is working on her art show “Pax Bellissima.” Her show contains 3 p’s (coincidence?), photography, paintings, and pottery.

“The arts have many roles in peacebuilding,” said Lisa. “I’ve written academic articles describing the many social functions of art. For my sabbatical, I’m using the arts as a means of reflection. Each of the pots that I create is a lament for something that is suffering in the world. Sometimes the pain of the stories I hear from people is too much. For me the pots are a place to put the pain. Painting and photography are expressions of what I see as beautiful and healing in the world. So my art brings together both laments and suffering and nourishment of colors and shapes in things I find beautiful. I think of what I’m doing as the ‘reflective arts’- and expression of my inward grief and desire to spend more of my life doing things that I enjoy, like photography and painting.”

Check out some of her work on our blog. I made a short film to showcase her work.

We will continue to have quotes from Lisa, hopefully once a week. So let’s look forward to hearing what she has to say about arts and peacebuilding.

**REMINDER**- Lisa’s show opens in 22 days!

-Emma

