CJP Project experience

I was lucky enough to be able to attend a graduate activity for the Center for Justice and Peace Building students. My experience there was very different than anything I had participated in. We began by introducing ourselves and saying the first thing that came to our minds when we heard the word, “art”. I answered creativity.

Next we got into groups and discussed different questions that related to arts and peace, such as, how does peace affect art, etc. We then discussed the answers in a large group and drew on a piece of paper what art was to us. Then, we put all of our pieces of artwork together and created one masterpiece.

Finally, to wrap things up, we shared our drawings with the group and then formed a circle and went to the middle of the circle to answer, “ I wouldn’t be able to live with out art because….”. I answer because it makes me happy.

This experience was vital because I was able to see how the practice of peacebuilding is taught, learned, and then acted out. By having sessions and classes like these, people can become more educated on this topic and then go forth and educate others as well. In sports, the term, “practice like you play” is used. This phrase can be used for peacebuilding as well.

A few things I took away from the experience are, relationships are key, practice the way you want to live, and try new things.

-Malika

