The Fabric of Your Life

Since the documentary Weaving Life (made by students at Eastern Mennonite University) came out, I’ve been thinking a lot about textile arts. The film is full of beautiful shots of Persian rugs and other types of weavings. Seeing these gorgeous textiles and hearing the metaphors (or similes?) about how weaving a rug is like putting stories and experiences together to form your life made me think more about textile arts. I’m part of a (unofficial) club on campus called Stitch & Bitch, where we get together to talk and knit or crochet once a week. (I actually just came from that meeting and am now writing this post.) These meetings we (anyone who knits/crochets or wants to learn) can come together and swap ideas and share a common love for stitching. It’s more than that though. It’s a time for us to share our lives with each other. At the same time we are knitting and crocheting we are stitching this experience and each other into the fabric of our lives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Knitting is fairly new to me. I didn’t learn until last year when my friend Lauren (a master knitter) taught me how. While it’s new to me, knitting and other textile arts have been around for thousands of years. The  experience I have when knitting with friends at Stitch & Bitch is the same as women might have had in found in Egypt from the end of the first millennium AD. When this occurred to me, I was a little taken aback. It’s not often that I feel so connected to the past, especially in today’s technology driven world.

What else do we do to weave the stories of the past into the fabric of our lives? How do you weave?

Drop me a comment about the fabric of your life and how or what you weave/stitch with. Or send me a picture of some recent textile art you’ve done.

-Emma

