Reddit: the Front Page of the Internet

Reddit: the front page of the Internet.

It may be the front page of the Internet (my front page is Google), but I hadn’t heard of it until about 3 months ago. When I was finally introduced to it, I thought, “Where has this been all my life?”

Top Reddit post December 8, 2012

Top Reddit post December 8, 2012

For those of you who don’t know what Reddit is, it is a social news website where registered users post links (within categories such as “pics, funny, or cats”) that other users vote “up” or “down” depending on interest. The votes determine where the post will appear on the site. As I’m writing this, the top post on Reddit has 4361 “up” votes and 1736 comments. Both are still climbing in numbers. It was only posted 5 hours ago.

That is the power of Reddit: to take a link and make it viral or at least get it more views. It’s social media that you can get lost in for hours, just surfing the ridiculous pictures, tear-jerking articles, and insane stories. It’s similar to Pinterest, but less organized and more relevant with news and world-wide topics.

I’ve tried posting a couple of things on Reddit to get some more views for Pax Bellissima, but it hasn’t gone very well yet. Some of the most popular posts on Reddit are simply images and I (or anyone else posting) should keep that in mind next time I try to post.

My brother with Jim Tressel

My brother with Jim Tressel

While I haven’t had much luck with Reddit as of yet, my brother has had a bit. In August, he met former head coach of the Ohio State Buckeyes football team, Jim Tressel. He posted this picture on Reddit and got a lot of views. The picture was even used on an Ohio State blog.

Basically, what I’m saying is that Reddit can be a very powerful tool if you know how to use it. If you need something to go viral, Reddit is a great place to start. If you really want it to get out there, though, I would suggest using a variety of web apps like Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, and anywhere else where it will be seen and shared.

-Emma

