Tweet, Tweet, Tweet

Twitter: “The fastest, simplest way to stay close to everything you care about.” I used to think Twitter was just some stupid social app trying to replace Facebook, then I actually got on it and saw what it could do. Contrary to my original thinking, Twitter is very different from Facebook. While Facebook is a great way to stay connected with friends and post pictures of yourself, Twitter is an information network that can be used for so many things other than talking to friends.

My free stickers from Twitter

My free stickers from Twitter

Twitter can be used to promote your business. Post links to coupons, deals, and new sales. Get your name out there. Build relationships with customers. Twitter even has a “Twitter 101 for Business.”

If you’re not a business or organization and you’re just on Twitter to “follow” people, that’s fine. You don’t ever have to “tweet” to be on Twitter. No matter if you tweet or not, you have access to info and people that interest you.

I have 2 Twitter accounts: 1 for Pax Bellissima and 1 for me personally. I post on the Pax Bellissima occasionally, but I never post on my personal Twitter. I only follow people. “Whoa, that’s creepy,” you might say, but wait until you hear who I follow. Free Stuff @onlinefreebies, fatwallet free stuff @FreeStuffROCKS, I Love Free Things @ILoveFreeThings, and Hey, It’s Free! @HeyItsFree. I simply follow these people because they post links to free stuff all the time. I’ve gotten a lot of free stickers, a few t-shirts, ebooks, and even a bobble head.

Mike Luckovich on Iran and Twitter

Mike Luckovich on Iran and Twitter

Anyways, that’s just how I use Twitter. There are some really unique and impressive uses for Twitter out there. Twitter Stories tells tales of some amazing things people have done with Twitter, like making music from tweets, keeping a language alive, and fighting crime. Twitter and other social media made it possible for Egypt to have a revolution! I will never question the usefulness of Twitter again.

-Emma

