Creative Commons

creative-commons-small3

Before this post, I did not have a personal understanding of creative commons. I now know, thanks to their website, that creative commons “helps you share you knowledge and creativity with the world.” Creative commons is an actual organization that is non-profit. It allows you to post things without you being afraid that other people could snatch your personal work.

A lot of people also sign their names with “CC.” For example, cc Malika Davis. Unfortunately, I have witnessed people erasing the creative commons logo in the corner. With a few Photoshop maneuvers, it can be accomplished.

To correspond with my “twitterpost, creative commons has their own twitter account. They have over 400,000 followers. After searching their account a bit, it looks like the main reason for their account is to inform and interact with their followers. For example, “Check out @dublab‘s new mix in honor of CC’s tenth birthday. http://bit.ly/VzCunG  #cc10 #ccmusic” was a tweet on December 10th and this was a fun tweet to tell others what is going on.

Depending on the website, some sites require for users to check for a ownership. One example is Jamendo. Jamendo advertises the fact that they are “CC” licensed.

I may personally use creative commons int he future considering my major. My future occupations could definitely require a “CC” on my photographs or whatever I may be publishing. Creative Commons is a great way to allow internet users to share their work without them being frightened that it could be used other places without any credit.

